Important Information

Village of Armada Police Department's K9 Atos has been awarded a bullet and stab protective vests

Village of Armada Police Department's K9 Atos has been awarded a ballistic vest thanks to non-profit organization Vested Interest in K9s, Inc., and Kyle O'Brien's online event for VIK9s raised over $2000.00 one vest will be awarded to K9 Atos and one vest to K9 Rex, Muskegen County Sheriff in MI . The vest will be embroidered with the sentiment "Donated by Kyle O'Brien's fund raising efforts".

Vested Interest in K9s, Inc. is a 501c (3) charity located in East Taunton, MA., whose mission is to provide bullet and stab protective vests and other assistance to dogs of law enforcement and related agencies throughout the United States. The non-profit was established in 2009 to assist law enforcement agencies with this potentially lifesaving body armor for their four-legged K9 officers. Since its inception, Vested Interest in K9s, Inc. provided over 1,530 protective vests, in 49 states, through private and corporate donations, at a cost of over 1.4 million dollars. All vests are custom made in the USA by Armor Express in Central Lake, MI.

The program is open to dogs actively employed in the U.S. with law enforcement or related agencies who are certified and at least 19 months of age. New K9 graduates, as well as K9s with expired vests, are eligible to participate.

The suggested donation to provide one protective vest for law enforcement K9 is $950.00 Each vest has a value between $1,795 - $2,234 and a five-year warranty. There is an estimated 30,000 law enforcement K9s throughout the United States. For more information or to learn about volunteer opportunities, please call 508-824-6978. Vested Interest in K9s, Inc. provides information, lists events, and accepts tax-deductible donations of any denomination at or mailed to P.O. Box 9 East Taunton, MA 02718.

How to Browse this Site:
Armada Council
Marvin Wolak - Village President
Michelle Poulos - Clerk
Jo Adair - Treasurer
David Coenen - President Pro Tem
Sam Boelke - Parks Commissioner
Stephen Clark - Sewer Commissioner
Lyle Ballard - Street Administrator
Sherri Cooper - Police Commissioner
Michael Shall - Water Commissioner